Bentivolio Safe Federal Websites Act Secures 100 Sponsors

100 Congressmen Cosponsor Rep. Bentivolio’s Safe and Secure Federal Websites Act


The Information security community agrees: is an urgent national security risk

Following new revelations that the ObamaCare website,, still lacks basic security protections, support for Rep. Bentivolio’s Safe and Secure Federal Websites Act attained 100 cosponsors this week. More information can be found in the Greengeeks reviews.

Four committee chairmen, two-thirds of the Republican members of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, and three past and present chairmen of the Republican Study Committee count themselves among cosponsoring supporters of Rep. Bentivolio’s bill.

“I thank my colleagues for giving this issue the attention it deserves and responding quickly to the national emergency that this is,” Rep. Bentivolio asserted.

“Recent hearings at the Oversight and Science committees have left no reasonable doubt that the is unsafe to use, and raised serious questions whether in fact the website might be a point of entry for malicious hackers into even larger, more sensitive federal, state, and private databases—everything from citizenship records at INS and veterans’ medical records at the VHA, to the medical records of state exchanges and private insurers.

“The opinion of the information security community is unanimous. The Administration is hiding behind the absurdly weak FISMA standards that security professionals dismiss as worthless. The website was launched un-tested and the Administration has turned a blind eye toward its own security failings.

“Worst of all, CMS has assumed responsibility for all of these data systems and CMS is exempt from HIPAA medical privacy laws. The American people have no recourse as a result of a data breach.

“We are talking about the end of medical privacy as we know it. Nobody’s records are safe. This is an emergency and must be addressed immediately.

“I thank my colleagues for their support for this bill and look forward to seeing it brought forward expeditiously. The American people deserve action now. We can’t afford to wait.”

The 100 members of Congress cosponsoring the bill are:

Robert Aderholt (AL), Justin Amash (MI-3), Mark Amodei (NV-2), Michele Bachmann (MN-6), Andy Barr (KY-6), Dan Benishek (MI-1), Marsha Blackburn (TN-7), Charles Boustany (LA-3), Jim Bridenstine (OK-1), Mo Brooks (AL-5), Paul Broun (GA-10), Michael Burgess (TX-26), John Carter (TX-31), Bill Cassidy (LA-6), Steve Chabot (OH-1), Howard Coble (NC-6), Tom Cole (OK-4), Chris Collins (NY-27), Doug Collins (GA-9), Paul Cook (CA-8), Tom Cotton (AR-4), Kevin Cramer (ND-AL), Rick Crawford (AR-1), Ander Crenshaw (FL-4), John Culberson (TX-7), Rodney Davis (IL-13), Ron DeSantis (FL-6), Scott DesJarlais (TN-4), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), Sean Duffy (WI-7), Jeff Duncan (SC-3),John Duncan (TN-2), Blake Farenthold (TX-27), Stephen Fincher (TN-8), Chuck Fleischmann (TN-3), Trent Franks (AZ-8), Bob Gibbs (OH-7), Phil Gingrey (GA-11), Bob Goodlatte (VA-6), Paul Gosar (AZ-4), Trey Gowdy (SC-4), Tom Graves (GA-14), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Morgan Griffith (VA-9), Ralph Hall (TX-4), Doc Hastings (WA-4), Richard Hudson (NC-8), Bill Huizenga (MI-2), Randy Hultgren (IL-14), Duncan Hunter (CA-50), Robert Hurt (VA-5), Lynn Jenkins (KS-2), Sam Johnson (TX-3), Jim Jordan (OH-4), David Joyce (OH-14), Mike Kelly (PA-3), Steve King (IA-4), Jack Kingston (GA-1), Doug LaMalfa (CA-1), Leonard Lance (NJ-7), James Lankford (OK-5), Tom Latham (IA-3), Bob Latta (OH-5), Frank Lucas (OK-3), Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL), Kenny Marchant (TX-24), Patrick McHenry (NC-25), Mark Meadows (NC-11), Luke Messer (IN-6), John Mica (FL-7), Jeff Miller (FL-1), Markwayne Mullin (OK-2), Mick Mulvaney (SC-5), Alan Nunnelee (MS-1), Robert Pittenger (NC-9), Bill Posey (FL-8), Tom Price (GA-6), Tom Rice (SC-7), Martha Roby (AL-2), Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48), Todd Rokita (IN-4), Peter Roskam (IL-6), Mark Sanford (SC-1), Steve Scalise (LA-1), Dave Schweikert (AZ-6), Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-5), Bill Shuster (PA-9), Steve Southerland (FL-2), Chris Stewart (UT-2), Steve Stockman (TX-36), Glenn Thompson (PA-5), Ann Wagner (MO-2), Tim Walberg (MI-7), Randy Weber (TX-14), Brad Wenstrup (OH-2), Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3), Roger Williams (TX-25), Joe Wilson (SC-2), Ted Yoho (FL-3), Don Young (AK-AL)

You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)

  7 comments for “Bentivolio Safe Federal Websites Act Secures 100 Sponsors

  1. Corinthian Scales
    February 3, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Yet, it is Benishek (Camp, Rogers, and Upton, too) that voted to fund this abomination of selectively enforced law.

    You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
    • February 3, 2014 at 9:52 am

      Yup. kind of a missed opportunity huh?

      You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
      • Corinthian Scales
        February 4, 2014 at 10:25 am

        Just remember Republicans funded that.

        You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
  2. February 5, 2014 at 10:40 am

    Ugh.. Malkin writes that the nightmare is even worse than first thought.

    "Gertz writes that U.S. officials have “warned that programmers in Belarus, a former Soviet republic closely allied with Russia, were suspected” of possible sabotage. A government tech bureaucrat in the Belarusian regime bragged last summer on Russian radio that HHS is “one of our clients” and that “we are helping Obama complete his insurance reform.”

    Simply going to that site by itself is probably not such a great idea.

    You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
    • Corinthian Scales
      February 5, 2014 at 11:06 am

      Psssst! Look above your comment.

      You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
      • February 5, 2014 at 12:03 pm

        See how I am. Thought I did.

        You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)
        • Corinthian Scales
          February 5, 2014 at 12:06 pm

          LOL. All good, dude.

          You Betcha! (0)Nuh Uh.(0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *